The Student Room Group

Royal Marines Officer

Hello,
I am currently considering joining the royal marines, and am thinking about applying to try and become an officer. At the moment I am in my final year of A-levels, so I am in the process of looking at my options after sixth form, I do not particularly want to go to university. As I have said previously I would like to apply to the royal marines as an officer, but do not think that I will be ready by the end of this academic year, mainly because my fitness is no where near up to the standard that the royal marines would expect. Would it be best if I apply at the end of this academic year, when my fitness has improved? Or would if be best if I go to university first and gradually build up my fitness over the three years?
In this day and age having a degree in anything is better than having no degree at all. So in my mind, pick something you think you'd *enjoy* reading at university and do that. By all means have a good time, but also smash your fitness. RM Officers need to be able to do everything their men can do and then some on top of that. Just imagine needing to inspire/ earn respect from a Royal Marine, who is a hard as nails guy, and use that motivation to get yourself stacked/ fast/ endurance fit over three years.
Reply 2
Original post by anon144
Hello,