Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I am currently studying adult nursing and I hate it! I hate the fact I have had to move away from home to study, I am so homesick, down, lonely and depressed. I dont really get on with my flat mates and Ive tried to make so much effort but Im so excluded. Ive seeked all help possible but nothing is working. I have looking into transfer for next year but thats nearly impossible because of my course, I also re-applied for January intake for my home town but thats full but I have a chance for going there in September. However, in September you have to pay tuition fees and you do not get a bursary. So I will be in so much more debt. But all I do here is constantly break down. I just wish I had one person. Ive worked so hard to get here and I dont want to let my family down because they have so much faith in me. What do I do?

ReputationRep:
    you started in September ?

home sicknesses is incredibily common in the first few weeks / months of Uni

what are you doing outside of timetable and accomodation ?

traditionally the answer would be to (wo)man the flip up and get out and do some stuff - and consider seeking primary care help if you are concerned that you are depressed ... but that;s probably not fwuffy enough for the current environment of generation snowflake...

ReputationRep:
    Yeah I started in September and I see a counsellor on a weekly basis. I joined two societies to make friends but they haven't had many events on. My flat mates are really boring they don't do much and also they go home quite a lot

ReputationRep:
    sounds like you are doing a lot to try and help the situation. Could you stick it out for this year and then try and find different flatmates for next year? They don't have to be nursing students, or even students. Most local newspaper advertise for people to house share. Hopefully the homesickness will ease of a bit too. Can you go home more often or Skype in the evenings/weekends?