The Student Room Group

Feeling Depressed At Uni

I am a first year student, I already have anixety and have had it before I started at uni. I live in halls. But I hate it, I don;t like my flatmates. I have no friends, despite talking to people and joining societies, I haven't clicked with anyone.
I go home every weekend and I feel so much happier, if I had to stay at halls over the weekend I think I would be much worse than I am now. When I get back on Monday morning from the weekend at home I feel miserable again. I enjoy the course and all that and am not having any issues regarding that.
My parents and I thought I should try out halls for first year, I thought I would be okay, I fell for the propaganda put forward by the uni, the one that made you believe everyone would settle and be happy. But I was wrong. I hate it. I have a countdown to when I can go home at weekends. I can't wait for the christmas break.
People are already talking about second year accomodation, as I have had such a bad time in halls I feel that I will not be comfortable in a house share. Especially as I haven't made any friends. I don't think even if I do make friends, I'd feel ready to move in with them. So I am thinking of commuting for next year. My parents do say this is an option, but it is best to wait until the reapplication of student finance to commit to a decision. But in my mind I have committed to this. I want to be independent, I think if I didn't have to share with people I don't like and was on my own or with someone I knew very well I wouldn't be having this issue, for instance, I'd be happy to share a flat with my sister. But financial issues mean this isn't possible for the time being.
I was wondering if someone else is going through a similar expereince.
BTW the commute would be a 40 min train. I find this would be manageable.