Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Is it illegal for a private landlord to turn away students that being their only 'valid' reason?
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster
    (Original post by NinaBookah)
    Is it illegal for a private landlord to turn away students that being their only 'valid' reason?
    Perfectly legal if that was the only reason. It is a private landlord so they can let to whom they like (Nothwithstanding equality laws).

ReputationRep:
    Not only legal but very common. Students tend to be short term and are much more likely to damage the flat incur additional expenses for the landlord.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by doodle_333)
    Not only legal but very common. Students tend to be short term and are much more likely to damage the flat incur additional expenses for the landlord.
    Well, I am a mature student. I don't think it's fair to assume such traits in a person considering I'd be on my own. It makes sense though but I see it similar to to turning away a person of color based on stereotype. Anyway, just trying to get some insight.
    • Section Leader
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    Very Important Poster
    Peer Support Volunteers
    Clearing and Applications Advisor
    Well, I am a mature student. I don't think it's fair to assume such traits in a person considering I'd be on my own. It makes sense though but I see it similar to to turning away a person of color based on stereotype. Anyway, just trying to get some insight.
    There's nothing stopping them,they can always claim you don't meet their income requirements. We came across a landlord that was a bit iffy with me being 21 (partners 25) I work full time it was literally my age that was their only issue.

ReputationRep:
    Legal and common
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster