Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Ok I don't if this is the right place to post this. And I know this might come out as a really silly text, but I just need to have some opinions on this either way. First I'm just going to let you know that I am currently in my first year in University (I am international) and I live on campus with four other people whom I share a kitchen with. So yesterday I decided to make some food using the oven, and since I thought it were supposed to be in there for a while, I put on an alarm and went to my room. And when the alarm went off, I went back into the kitchen to check on the food, only to see two of my flatmates busy trying to get out the smoke in the kitchen. My food had badly burned and it smelled awful. I apologized a dozen times while I had to scrape out the burnt food and help get the smoke out. I could see that the other were kind of mad, and I don't blame them. So after I got everything cleaned up, I went back to my room and ordered some food instead.

So now my problem is that I am too afraid to cook again. I am afraid of burning my food again and make my flatmates mad. I feel like they all think that I am stupid and don't know the first thing about food. That if I try to make some again, and one of them happen to come into the kitchen, they will think stuff like "this won't go well" and get frustrated because they think I will ruin everything again. I am probably overreacting, but I am actually very afraid to cook again, I don't even have any other "friends" than the people who live in my building, and I feel like my flatmates will tell about the accident to all of them which will cause them to not wanting to hang out with me anymore.. Could this happen?

ReputationRep:
    You're being a bit catastrophic. I think next time you cook you'd be better off staying in the kitchen the entire time rather than going back to your room - you won't have that problem again then.

ReputationRep: