Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    So I'm in my first year of Computer science at University and everyone I've met so far says first year is easy. However I am kind of struggling. I like programming and I am learning quite well.

However, what I do is go to lectures during the day, come home and go over my lectures and make notes because I can't make notes during lectures - they're just too fast! Each one hour lecture takes me around 2 hours to fully understand and make notes.

Now that we're over a month into uni, I am starting to get pieces of coursework. How do I still go over my lectures and do my coursework? It takes me hours and I have no time to myself and people around me say I'm working too much and should have fun as well since it's uni.

Lastly, I have exams in the summer, so any tips on how to remember all the information I'm learning so I can pass my exams in summer?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Ghost10Bxl)
    It takes me hours and I have no time to myself and people around me say I'm working too much and should have fun as well since it's uni.
    You need to create a schedule of when you'll do work and when you wont, making sure that you stick to it. If you wake up early then its a bonus as you'll be able to revise your notes and prepare for the day.

I would say just make sure you complete all of the work and read over your notes multiple times so that you understand them. You must make notes during the lectures, surely they cant be talking that fast. Listen carefully and jot things down that you'll remember easily.

For example, if the lecturer talks about algorithms and you don't know something within that area, write it down. It doesn't have to be the whole paragraph that they said, just small areas that would remind you of what you learnt or what something means.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by tuchaynz)