Turn on thread page Beta

Hi everyone

I'm very new to this, but I would really appreciate some feedback, from both guys and girls if possible.

I have been with my boyfriend for 10 years. We are both each other's first serious relationship and only sexual partners. In many ways the relationship is great, mutually supportive, affectionate - we are best friends and, because I had a rough childhood, he is the only family I have. We have a mortgage and a life together - seems great.

Except.

We are definitely mismatched in terms of our sex drives. At the start of the relationship, we had sex maybe once or twice a week, and it was ok. However, as time has gone on this has diminished into almost nothing. He never initiates, and when I try to I'm pushed away or told 'is that all you think about?'. I tried to be understanding and asked to talk about why, if I could do anything to make it more enjoyable for him, but he just said he is always tired and 'it isn't worth putting in the effort'. This isn't about positions or anything because many times I would do all the work, or just give him a ** I feel guilty because I'm finding myself less and less attracted to him. I tell myself that its superficial, and to concentrate on the important things rather than physical, but I can't help feeling like I want some passion (and some muscles).

I asked if he would go to couples counselling as it was an issue that was really affecting us, as I have the need to be intimate and close to my partner. He refused and said he'd rather break up than face something that embarrassing. My self-esteem has got increasingly lower, and I feel like I'm constantly trying to fix things.