Turn on thread page Beta

Feeling lonely in second year and trying to make friends watch

ReputationRep:
    • Very Important Poster

ReputationRep:
    Very Important Poster
    (Original post by ellai17)
    I am currently in my second year of uni and I still haven't really made any friends. Although I get on well with my flatmates I just don't seem to be in the same situation as my old friends who are at different unis and seem to be constantly surrounded by friends and say they have a great time. (I know they only post the good bits on social media but they do seem to have lots of friends)

I've joined societies but I do find it hard chatting in social situations however I've realised that people aren't going to come to me magically wanting to be friends and that I have to put myself out there and make an effort.

So this is where student room comes in. I've been thinking about joining some websites to find some student friends but then realised I'm missing a great opportunity here and that so many other people on here are in the same situation as me and feel a bit overwhelmed with uni life and just want someone to chat to.

So basically anyone feel like chatting? If there was enough interest we could even add people on facebook and have a bit group chat. I know it's not the same as talking in real life and we'd probably all live far away from each other but it might be a great way to meet new people?
    I think with TSR it can be difficult to build up a friendship with someone but just.. I dunno.. find people you like or seem to have things common in with and see what happens it's a bit easier in real life (though very overwhelming as a second year uni student, been there) and when it came to that I spoke to some new people on my course or in groups for example and okay, not all of them you click with but that's life.