Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I know that the majority of people drop one of their subjects after AS, but quite a few people do keep all four, so I was wondering what some of the benefits are of doing that. Even the best unis request only 3 subjects - is it because some of the work in that extra subject may consolidate what they'll be learning in the other three?

I'm studying Psychology, English lang/lit, Philosophy and History, and I'm not sure whether to drop Psych or not.

What about you guys?

ReputationRep:
    The only point in doing 4 is that if one goes belly-up, it doesn't matter so much. If you do drop one, and most people do, make sure you carefully examine the A2 syllabus for each course first, and make sure you're dropping the right one.

ReputationRep:
    Do 4, you'll just end up wasting time in free periods otherwise.
    • Wiki Support Team

ReputationRep:
    Wiki Support Team
    I would say 3 gives you more time to concentrate and get great results at A2. Since A2 is a lot harder and time consuming. What courses were you thinking about at university?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ChrisRH)
    Do 4, you'll just end up wasting time in free periods otherwise.
    More like if you do 4, you'll have absolutely no frees left at all and you're putting yourself under far too much pressure. When you're at college you need some time to go and play pool, have a pint etc or you'll overload yourself. I know if I'd done 4 at A2, I wouldn't have done as well.
    • Wiki Support Team

ReputationRep:
    Wiki Support Team
    :ditto: I wouldn't have liked doing 4 - but then i was studying science/maths and the workload was huge, and my brain numbing after intense classes. The pint in the pub was a great help.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ~Kirsty~)
    I would say 3 gives you more time to concentrate and get great results at A2. Since A2 is a lot harder and time consuming. What courses were you thinking about at university?