Turn on thread page Beta

I'm in my final year and unfortunately, while it has been on and off for the past few years, I'm falling back in to depression. I can't focus on a thing, feel worthless and very isolated. I know I need extensions on an essay coming up but I'm hesitant to request it. I've gotten so many extensions the last few years and I feel bad for it and I hate feeling vulnerable. Also, do I need to go to the GP? I've been on anti depressants before, but I'm really wary about getting back on them. I'm trying to tackle it at the moment by going to the gym every day but that is no longer doing much for me. Please help, thank you
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster
    (Original post by Anonymous)
    I'm in my final year and unfortunately, while it has been on and off for the past few years, I'm falling back in to depression. I can't focus on a thing, feel worthless and very isolated. I know I need extensions on an essay coming up but I'm hesitant to request it. I've gotten so many extensions the last few years and I feel bad for it and I hate feeling vulnerable. Also, do I need to go to the GP? I've been on anti depressants before, but I'm really wary about getting back on them. I'm trying to tackle it at the moment by going to the gym every day but that is no longer doing much for me. Please help, thank you
    As you have done it before, then you should be familiar with the procedure.

Get the form and fill it out.

Talk to a welfare adviser/ counselor in the SU.
    You must go to your GP and get a note if you are claiming depression.
    They need to know an independent medical professional confirms the diagnosis and it helps them to know you are dealing with it.

The GP doesnt have to put you on tablets. You can be referred for counseling instead or in addition.

If you want the extension, then you need to follow their procedure. Its your choice about whether you want it badly enough.