When you want to cry over MScs Watch

NeuroJanine
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi everyone

I was at a postgrad evening. I have an ordinary degree in Applied Chemistry and an Open Uni MSc in Science, I did my PgCert in Chemistry which had its project credit transferred to the OU MSc. I have basically been told that my MSc should have been taken into account, applying for PhD and even some MSc / PhD courses and they say I need honours? Either that or I have no lab experience when my project was a lab-based project for my PG Cert!

I am seriously considering doing this MSc as I will be doing and if anyone else says, "I have no lab experience" !!!!! Was the initial MSc a waste of time as I have to do this second one to compensate with what I thought the OU one would've done.

Does anyone else have this issue?
#ChaosKass
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
The vast majority of PhDs require a first class degree. I have no idea how you're expecting to get an offer with just an ordinary.
alleycat393
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by NeuroJanine)
Hi everyone

I was at a postgrad evening. I have an ordinary degree in Applied Chemistry and an Open Uni MSc in Science, I did my PgCert in Chemistry which had its project credit transferred to the OU MSc. I have basically been told that my MSc should have been taken into account, applying for PhD and even some MSc / PhD courses and they say I need honours? Either that or I have no lab experience when my project was a lab-based project for my PG Cert!

I am seriously considering doing this MSc as I will be doing and if anyone else says, "I have no lab experience" !!!!! Was the initial MSc a waste of time as I have to do this second one to compensate with what I thought the OU one would've done.