Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, im in second year and have submitted my first ever essay through turn it in but i got 26% yellow similarity and I don't understand why?

The bits that are highlighted are my quotes in the text which I put with a citation and then referenced them. But most of my references are highlighted and many of my quotes? It just comes up with them being in another essay someone wrote but just because someone has used the same quote before that counts as similar even though I am talking about a completely different point? Did I just write them down wrong maybe? I mean even my essay title is highlighted in blue for some reason and they gave us the essay title.

Will I get marked down? I ticked the boxes to exclude quotes and bibliography and it goes down to 24% and green but still a bit confused by it all!

ReputationRep:
    If its the title, bibliography and quotes (properly cited!) then you have nothing to worry about.
    Common phrases such as 'this is wrong' will also be highlighted because people use them a lot.
    Its only an issue if your own work, as in your own words, come highlighted

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Nottie)
    If its the title, bibliography and quotes (properly cited!) then you have nothing to worry about.
    Common phrases such as 'this is wrong' will also be highlighted because people use them a lot.
    Its only an issue if your own work, as in your own words, come highlighted
    yeah it was just all of my quotes really, none of my own work was highlighted, most of them doesn't even say where they are apparently from, some from other essay and books but because of citied and referenced I wouldn't think they would come up? but can you still get marked down for incorrect citing as that may be why a lot of my work as been highlighted?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Adam1995)