Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hey all!

So if you're applying right now to English (as I know interviews etc must be coming up soon), I'm opening the floor to any questions relating to applications, interviews, courses or university life. Go for it and ask me anything you feel would be useful. Appropriate, obviously lol.

I'm currently in my 3rd year at UCL (University College London)

Good luck to you all!

x
    • TSR Support Team
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Clearing and Applications Advisor
    (Original post by EllyJelly)
    Hey all!

So if you're applying right now to English (as I know interviews etc must be coming up soon), I'm opening the floor to any questions relating to applications, interviews, courses or university life. Go for it and ask me anything you feel would be useful. Appropriate, obviously lol.

I'm currently in my 3rd year at UCL (University College London)

Good luck to you all!

x
    Did you study Old English or Old Icelandic, and if you did, what was it like?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Snufkin)
    Did you study Old English or Old Icelandic, and if you did, what was it like?
    I've done Old English all 3 years of my degree and I absolutely love it. It's very logical and translation based compared to any other module on offer, plus lots of interesting Anglo Saxon history. The stories and poems themselves also have very interesting plots - Anglo Saxons loved their weird monsters and all that. It does require a lot of work between seminars though - we translate up to 60 lines of Anglo Saxon per seminar in 2nd/3rd years. If you love it though, this doesn't put you off.

You get a sample of Old English that is compulsory in 1st year that will probably better inform your decision.