Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    1. I'm studying CCEA English Literature and have a controlled assessment coming up. Could you read the essay I've prepared and give some guidance on it? I'd appreciate it immensely.

The question is "With reference to the ways Steinbeck presents hopes for a better life, show that they are unrealistic but necessary."

In the 1930s, America was shaken to its very core; first by the Wall Street Crash, and, consequently, by the Great Depression. As a result of this, many were left homeless and destitute, and of these, many became itinerant farm workers. John Steinbeck’s Of Mice and Men focuses on a group of such farm workers. Hope is a constant theme throughout the novella. Steinbeck presents these hopes- or lack thereof, as a huge factor in the lives of these men. He shows them as a great motivator, the catalyst for many relationships, and often the sole light in the darkness for men living in such troubled times. However, he also shows the unrealistic nature of these dreams; it is by unrealised hopes and dreams that many have been ruined.
      Steinbeck places two major hints towards the inevitable failure of the hopes of these men. The book is named after Roberts Burns’ Ode to a Mouse, which states that ‘The best laid plans o’ mice an’ men gang aft agley’, meaning ‘The best laid plans of mice and men often go awry’, foreshadowing the fruitless outcome of these hopes. In addition, the novella takes place near the town of Soledad, which is Spanish for ‘solitude’. This helps us to understand the necessity of hope- without it, these lonely men would become cynical and embittered. This is supported by George’s quotation from chapter 3 “I seen the guys that go around on ranches alone… after a long time, they get mean.” This hints at the fate that awaits George following Lennie’s death.