Turn on thread page Beta

Language Problems? watch

In the past 6 months or so I've been experiencing mild problems with language that came on very suddenly. I just woke up one morning and found that I forgot how to type on the computer or text on my phone (fluently, I mean). It took me several days before I got to a point were typing wasn't painfully embarrassing, but it still isn't back to normal. I also suddenly spell many words wrong (even simple or common ones), get letters in the wrong order, and switch similar sounding words, synonyms or related words with each other, at times as much as every other sentence. It's also having an impact on my reading and listening comprehension. When I'm studying I often have to read a sentence even three or four times before I understand, and I can't make head nor tail of speech if someone else is talking at the same time. Sometimes it just goes in one ear and out the other.

Should I be concerned? Or am I overreacting? Some days it's very impacting and sometimes it's minimal, but it's still something that never used to happen...Who should I speak to about something like this? I'm not aware if this is the kind of thing I can bring up with my GP. I'm 20 and have never been diagnosed with dyslexia or anything, as I previously never had any problems, but my twin brother has also struggled in the past with language difficulties (but they never diagnosed anything as far as I'm aware, and he's been okay since secondary school). It's stressing me out now that I have a reading comprehension test next week and I don't know how I'll cope. Any insight would be appreciated.
    • TSR Support Team
    • Peer Support Volunteers

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Peer Support Volunteers
    (Original post by Anonymous)