Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I am a 2nd year Oxford student studying Biology and I absolutely hate it. Sometimes it is okay, I have good and bad days, but more often than not (i.e. almost all lectures) it is so dull. I know it isn’t what I want to do and the idea of doing a research project and more exams in it makes me depressed. I became depressed last year, one main reason being that I hated my course. I don’t want to continue with it. The only thing is that it is an Oxford degree which people seem to consider is impressive, and and I’ve already done one year and a bit.

Over the summer I became really interested in Nursing, and I have decided that I definitely want to be a nurse. Initially I considered doing a PGDip which involves being a healthcare assistant for 1 year after I graduate from Bio, then doing a 2 year Nursing Post Grad Diploma. However, because I hate Biology so much and am so passionate to become a nurse, I want to apply to undergrad Nursing to start next September, and drop out of my Bio degree.

I have made a list of pros and cons, done my research, and am speaking to people and trying to organise work experience. But I am posting here to ask if anyone has any experiences they’d like to share about dropping out/nursing, and if you could provide any advice?

Also, there are many unis that offer undergrad nursing. Does anyone have anything good/bad to say about nursing courses at different unis?

Thanks! Xxx

ReputationRep:
    People have probably already told you this but given that you are approaching the half way point you may as well finish. Your application will be stronger if you do and you'll have the postgraduate option as well if you do, which at this point would be the same price as what you're proposing to do, but without the kudos of having a degree on top.