Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm a second-year student at the University of Birmingham, studying Maths with Business Management. I have a 4 year course which includes a Masters but I'm not sure if I should stick with it or go for the usual BSc and then apply for another Masters or start working. What's your opinion?

Cheers.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by sergiuc)
    Hi,

I'm a second-year student at the University of Birmingham, studying Maths with Business Management. I have a 4 year course which includes a Masters but I'm not sure if I should stick with it or go for the usual BSc and then apply for another Masters or start working. What's your opinion?

Cheers.
    What % did you get in first-year, if you don't mind me asking?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by DarkEnergy)
    What % did you get in first-year, if you don't mind me asking?
    About 56% or something like that. I'm just wondering if I should pursue a Maths Masters or a Business one. Algebra has always been my passion but I have to go through a lot of other subjects, while I would like also to be an entrepreneur.

ReputationRep:
    With only 56% you probably aren't cut out for the MSci, and besides, you need 60%+ to continue onto the fourth year anyway. I suggest you drop down to the BSc and focus on getting your grades up to 2:1 standard, as well as searching for part-time jobs and work experience (internships are probably off the cards due to your grades).

ReputationRep:
    I already have a lot of work experience as I work as a designer and I have a part-time job so I don't need any work experience. My grades this year will be over 60% for sure, first year was totally new, and it affected my grades. I want to get a first, and I need 55% to get into the 4th year, which I'm sure it's not going to be a problem. I'm still not sure if I should go for the MSci in Maths or have a Bsc in Maths + a masters in Business.