Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

Incredibly lonely at university

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently studying at a university in Scotland and I don't think I have ever felt this lonely before.
    I live in student halls and I had such high expectations for university and don't get me wrong my roommate is lovely but she is hardly ever here. The friendship group I fell into never include me in anything even if my door is open or I express interest in whatever they are planning to do. For example it was one of the girl's birthdays and they were all heading out do dinner yet I was the only one in the group not invited.
    I know I probably seem like a tag along to them but I don't know how to change this.
    I have some friends on my course but the loneliness is horrendous at the weekend and in the evenings when I see my supposed friendship group doing all these things without even asking me if I was interested in joining them.
    I'm quite a timid person naturally but I've never had this much trouble with friendships before and it's really starting to have a negative effect on my uni work and mental health. My parents made a lot of sacrifices to be able to send me here, the costs are unbelievable and I feel like I would be letting them down if I told them the truth and that I no longer want to be here.

I'm away from home, Ireland, and all I think about is how close it is until Christmas so I can leave this place. I am absolutely miserable and don't want to spend the next 4 years here if this is how it'll be. I can't even bear to think about what my housing situation will be like next year. I just want to go home constantly and I have never cried over something so much before.

What should I do?

ReputationRep: