Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

Gaming in halls?

ReputationRep:
    I'm an avid gamer and I am looking at applying for universities next year, is it possible to play online games in halls? If so is it good? I don't want to be lagging constantly. I am mainly looking at Liverpool, Newcastle and Sheffield but I am interested in others as well, thanks

ReputationRep:
    I studied at UWS and despite being in an area that gets the worst phone reception it had pretty decent internet speed. Better than I had at my parents house at the time, actually, lol. I was playing a lot of League of Legends and Heroes of the Storm at the time and I rarely experienced lag. However that was the limit. I could only play PC games online. Trying to get my consoles online was impossible (although I did find a naughty workaround for my 3DS, hehe. Although I couldn't play games online - it just enabled me to download from the Nintendo Store).

ReputationRep:
    Gaming doesn't require huge amounts of data to be transferred in most cases. You'll probably use more data downloading a game than you actually will playing it over a month. So on the speed front you'll probably be totally fine. Of course that depends on the uni and halls you get. But I'm in a 700+ person building, WiFi gives around 20Mb on a good day, often far less and I have no trouble gaming.

ReputationRep: