Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hi

I'm a y12 student, studying for maths, further maths, chemistry and physics. My intention wasn't to study maths initially but I've warned to the idea. We recently started M2 and C2 (as our structure is C1-3 and M1-3 in y12 then FP1-2, C4 and S1-3 in y13.) and by far it is the most interesting subject I am studying. Vector mechanics is the first subject I've felt myself actually having to think about what is happening and I love it. Though, I feel I have a lot of catching up to do if I am to attend one of the 'Big 5' (COWIB) compared to those who've known and practiced maths since they were young.

Recently I picked up the Art of Problem Solving vol 1: The Basics so to become a more proficient problem solver and understand beyond the syllabus with a little more nuance (while also acting as a springboard for trying olympiad and MAT style questions then Silko and STEP). However, otherwise, what can I be doing to become a more proficient mathematician, improve my number sense, mathematical intuition, etc.? "Do lots of maths!" is clearly the general idea but something a bit more specific might be useful to aspiring mathematicians here Are there any resources in particular that you might recommend? I've heard about the Nrich website recently so may give that a try.

Appreciate any advice you can offer.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Athematica)
    Hi