Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    I have gotten offers to study a BA in English Literature at Newcastle, King's, Birmingham and, York. My top choices are the last two, but I have no idea which one to choose!

What I like about Birmimgham is that I can focus on Creative Writing, Film, or Drama, as well as its connection to the Shakespeare Institute.I also like that it is a larger, more diverse city. York has also very good reputation, the English course seems very interesting, and there are lot of opportunities to go abroad, however, creative writing is not offered in the degree.

Birmingham gave me a conditional offer based on my IB scores, which I won't receive until July, while York gave me a better offer just based on my existing American qualifications.

I am an overseas student and have never visited any of these universities or cities (and probably won't be able to before starting my course). I based my decision on league tables and the information I found online. If any of you study/have studied at any of these unis (especially if you are studying English) I would appreciate your opinion.

How is the city and student life? How is the English degree? How expensive is it to live there? Which one has better reputation? Which one has the most opportunities for funding? How are the graduate prospects? How is life for an international student?

PLEASE HELP ME! I am very indecisive!
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    Info about city and student life, international student support and grad prospects can be found online. Email the unis and see if they can put you in touch with current or former students. Funding is very difficult and in some cases non-existent for international students at the undergrad level so there is no straightforward answer for that.

ReputationRep: