Computer Science or Computer Engineering?

Watch
DeeplyThinking
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
I want to study a degree that will involve computers and computer hardware as I am interested in building computers and other devices etc, however I studied Electronics at GCSE and failed it (my teacher wasn't great). I may apply to computer science but is this mainly software based?

There are other courses such as "computer engineering" which seem to include more hardware based around computers.

Should I try studying electronic engineering and/or computer science at university or are there any other courses I should look into?
Doones
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by DeeplyThinking)
I want to study a degree that will involve computers and computer hardware as I am interested in building computers and other devices etc, however I studied Electronics at GCSE and failed it (my teacher wasn't great). I may apply to computer science but is this mainly software based?

There are other courses such as "computer engineering" which seem to include more hardware based around computers.

Should I try studying electronic engineering and/or computer science at university or are there any other courses I should look into?
What A-levels are you doing?

Posted from TSR Mobile
DeeplyThinking
Rep:
?
(Original post by jneill)
What A-levels are you doing?

Posted from TSR Mobile
Maths, IT and Psychology
Doones
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Maths, IT and Psychology
Ok. So Physics is required by many universities for electronic engineering but by no means all.

CompSci is more about the academic principles behind computing although there are certainly significant elements of coding in it. Not so much the electronics though.

Probably best to read up on the detailed content of the various courses at different universities and go along to some Open Days or UCAS Fairs to get a better idea of what interests you.