English Literature and Language GCSE

Watch this thread
username2845568
Badges: 9
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
I'm currently in Year 11 and I was wondering if anyone knew any tips on firstly,

How to revise English (mindmaps don't work for me) and secondly, if anyone had any tips on how to get the top grades? Like certain things to cover?

I'm generally goo at the other subjects (A/A*) and I don't want my English grade to bring it down.

I am taking the new GCSE so I know not many people have an idea on the mark scheme but if anyone knows any tricks that are fool-proof I'd love to know!

Thankyou to anyone who replies!

Also the books I'm studying in Lit are:
Lord of the Flies
Frankenstein
Macbeth
And the Power and Conflict poems

Thankyou!
mysticmagic2000
Badges: 18
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by geminitwinsx)
I'm currently in Year 11 and I was wondering if anyone knew any tips on firstly,

How to revise English (mindmaps don't work for me) and secondly, if anyone had any tips on how to get the top grades? Like certain things to cover?

I'm generally goo at the other subjects (A/A*) and I don't want my English grade to bring it down.

I am taking the new GCSE so I know not many people have an idea on the mark scheme but if anyone knows any tricks that are fool-proof I'd love to know!

Lord of the Flies
Frankenstein
Macbeth

Thankyou!
Hello,

From someone who used to hate English, I completely sympathise with you! But last year, I had a brilliant teacher who has enabled me to understand how to right essays and how to do English in a sense.

So for me, my main problem was focusing on what I was talking about and how to structure it in an effective way. However, my teacher taught me to use this method: