The Student Room Group

How to make my lecturers like me?

I'm a first year maths student and I was wondering how I could get on more with my lecturers. I'm very polite, I don't talk(to friends) during lectures, I ask questions and try to contribute. I'ver met two of my lecturers in their office, shook their hand, said my name and asked for a bit of help for revision. Is there anything else I can do?

Scroll to see replies

tell them you've read their book & thought it was awesome ?
Original post by the bear
tell them you've read their book & thought it was awesome ?

Lol tbf most of the stuff we do comes from their book, Is it worth saying?
Original post by NotGodofWorld
Lol tbf most of the stuff we do comes from their book, Is it worth saying?

absolutely. tell them it is the most exciting maths book since Newton's Principia :h:
Always be on time and never be late or miss a lecture.
Reply 5
I'm a first year maths student and I was wondering how I could get on more with my lecturers. I'm very polite, I don't talk(to friends) during lectures, I ask questions and try to contribute. I'ver met two of my lecturers in their office, shook their hand, said my name and asked for a bit of help for revision. Is there anything else I can do?

As a first year, you're unlikely to be on anything other than polite acquaintance terms with lecturers. What would you be looking for beyond that? If you're looking to establish some sort of working relationship, see if you can do some voluntary work on one of their research projects. The bottom line is that they're unlikely to be more friendly towards you than they are to other undergrads. Staff are very aware that perceived favouritism can cause all sorts of issues and certainly at my uni, they tend to steer clear of becoming over-familiar with particular individuals.