Rome is the beast (anti-christian) power in the book of Revelations. Watch

Badges: 1
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
The prophecies of Daniel speak of four Gentile world powers that would dominate the land of Israel until Christ returns.

Historically we know these to be Babylon, Medo-Persia, Greece, and Rome. Rome is the fourth part of the image of chapter 2, one that divides into two legs (as actually occurred with Rome) and later into 10 toes or kingdoms (which also occurred historically when Rome fell and divided into many kingdoms).

Rome is also the fourth beast, the one diverse from all the others in chapter 7.

Daniel 9:26-27 says,

“Then after the sixty-two weeks the Messiah will be cut off and have nothing, and the people of the prince who is to come will destroy the city and the sanctuary. And its end will comewith a flood; even to the end there will be war; desolations are determined. “And he will make a firm covenant with the many for one week, but in the middle of the week he will put a stop to sacrifice and grain offering; and on the wing of abominations will come one who makes desolate, even until a complete destruction, one that is decreed, is poured out on the one who makes desolate.”

The cutting off of Messiah (a phrase that means “to destroy or kill”) obviously refers to the death of Christ. After this, we are told “the people of the prince who is to come will destroy the city and the sanctuary.”

This refers to the destruction of Jerusalem and the temple by the Romans.

The 70th week of Daniel was fulfilled from 27-34 A.D., when Messiah and His disciples confirmed the new covenant with the Jews for 7 years.

The ‘covenant’ of the 70th week of Daniel is not just for 7 years.

It is the everlasting covenant which was made to Abraham, that his sins would be forgiven because of his faith in the promised Messiah, who would atone for his sins. Messiah ratified the Abrahamic Covenant with His blood.

The 70th week of Daniel points to the promised Messiah, who in the middle of the seven years, was ‘cut off’, just as
Isaiah 53 foretold, ending the need for temple sacrifices.

Messiah and His disciples ‘confirmed’ that it was He who was the Promised One, whose death as the Passover Lamb paid for their sins.

Messiah and His disciples preached the New Covenant with the Jews first, for seven years. Then after Stephen was stoned to death, Acts 8 shows a dramatic change, in that the Gospel was also preached to the Gentiles..

In it’s simplest form, the book of Revelation is the narrative of the historical battle between the Satan-empowered Roman beast against Messiah and His Church.

It is the battle of the great city of Rome (Rev 17:18), home to the Roman beast; against the Holy Jerusalem, the bride of Messiah (Rev. 21:9-10).

The Apocalyptic vision is a war manual. To hide the message from the Romans, and from undiscerning people, John coded the Apocalyptic message with symbols.

When John used the name Babylon, he was pointing to Rome, the great city of his day. He couldn’t name Rome, as that would have invited more persecution.

Most of the symbols are defined in the Old Testament, so if you don’t read it, you can’t know how the Bible defines the term, and you’re left to take them literally.

John also layered the Apocalyptic vision to hide the message. To see the fulfillment you have to overlay the layers to see how they interrelate.

In Revelation 2-3, our Lord used the names (which have coded meanings) of seven churches to describe seven church eras, which have spanned from when John wrote the vision until Messiah returns.

In Revelation 12-13, our Lord gives sweeping overviews of three phases of the Rome beast (the Roman Empire > The Roman Catholic Church > The Jesuits of Rome) that His followers have had to face from when John wrote the vision until Jesus returns.

In Revelation 17-18, our Lord helps John see how Satan would reign through seven phases (heads) of the Roman beast; how the Roman Catholic Church is the eighth head, the Harlot of Babylon, the false Church; and how the Jesuits are using the Vatican to gather the world under their power, and then they will desolate the Harlot.

The seven Seals, the sealing of the 144,000, the seven Trumpet judgments, the Little Book, the Two Witnesses, the seven Bowl judgments, the Battle of Armageddon, the One World Government, and Jesus returning in victory; overlay the historical timeline, to reveal the fulfillment.

Quick Reply

Attached files
Write a reply...
new posts
to top
My Feed

See more of what you like on
The Student Room

You can personalise what you see on TSR. Tell us a little about yourself to get started.


Have you made up your mind on your five uni choices?

Yes I know where I'm applying (153)
No I haven't decided yet (59)
Yes but I might change my mind (45)

Watched Threads

View All