The Student Room Group

Intuition on intro to derivatives

Hello, I've just began to learn calculus and have recently come across derivatives.

It was all going well until it was said that finding the derivative of a graph will find the slope at any point. I understand the lim h --> 0 = f(x+h) - f(x) / h , it makes a lot of sense to me and I'm extremely happy with it but I just don't understand how the derivative of a graph can find the slope at any point as it's constantly changing.

Is there any bit of information I am missing? I'm self taught so there could well be something inuitive which I have missed.

Is the derivative the slope as f(x) changes with respect to x? If so then when I think of cases where f(x) really fluctuates to extremes I don't understand how f(x) changes with respect to x at the same rate.

I'm sure there is some information I completely misinterpreted. Is there a video which could provide me with the inuition or is there something I got wrong?

Thank you
(edited 7 years ago)
Original post by --wispr
Hello, I've just began to learn calculus and have recently come across derivatives.

It was all going well until it was said that finding the derivative of a graph will find the slope at any point. I understand the lim h --> 0 = f(x+h) - f(x) / h , it makes a lot of sense to me and I'm extremely happy with it but I just don't understand how the derivative of a graph can find the slope at any point as it's constantly changing.

Is there any bit of information I am missing? I'm self taught so there could well be something inuitive which I have missed.

Is the derivative the slope as f(x) changes with respect to x? If so then when I think of cases where f(x) really fluctuates to extremes I don't understand how f(x) changes with respect to x at the same rate.

I'm sure there is some information I completely misinterpreted. Is there a video which could provide me with the inuition or is there something I got wrong?

Thank you