Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm studying at a lesser known university and was wondering whether I'll get into Oxbridge? - JUST KIDDING :p:

Firstly - you can't defer an entry/place on a MA course can you?

Secondly - has anyone taken a year off between their BA and MA before? If so, what was it like going back into the academic world?

ReputationRep:
    I deferred entry into my PhD and went travelling round NZ for a year. Good fun, didn't have any problems getting back into it.

ReputationRep:
    Cheers - that's good to know

ReputationRep:
    deferment and gaps are common.

have a good one.

ReputationRep:
    I took a year off between BA and MSt. It was a disaster really - I was bored stiff in a series of deadening jobs, wishing I could hit the libraries again. The good thing was it helped me to realise that life outside academia is not as thrilling as I'd assumed.

Before I enrolled on my MSt, I considered deferring a year because at the time I'd just landed a job which (I thought) was going to be great. But I was told that unless you're very ill, it's generally not possible to defer - you have to re-apply. Less stuffy universities might be more lax about this rule though, I don't know.

ReputationRep:
    Cheers guys - I've been offered the chance of full time work for the company I'm working for at the moment. Means getting to do what was my partly dream job before I thought about saying in Academia.

Just thinking that a year off will a.) gain me some money b.) I'll know then that doing an MA will definately be the right thing to do (bascially missing the reading & researching)

ReputationRep:
    ooooh, may we ask what your job is?

ReputationRep:
    As you asked so politely,

I work part time for a well known casual/horsey/yachting type clothing company, purely as one of the shop assistants, but responsabilities have already increased (been with them 4 weeks now) so I'm gaining more business & management experience rather than retail.