tbator
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I'm doing my final year of Alevels, and i am studying Mathematics, Computer Science and Sociology. After finishing University (Studying Computer Science) I want to pursue a career in the RAF as a figther pilot.

I have heard conflicting rumours about how the RAF can sponsor and train you through University and just wanted a confirmation, and if not what is the best process to joining the RAF.

I
hezzlington
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
here's a start.

https://www.raf.mod.uk/recruitment/r...aircrew/pilot/
Drewski
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by tbator)
I'm doing my final year of Alevels, and i am studying Mathematics, Computer Science and Sociology. After finishing University (Studying Computer Science) I want to pursue a career in the RAF as a figther pilot.

I have heard conflicting rumours about how the RAF can sponsor and train you through University and just wanted a confirmation, and if not what is the best process to joining the RAF.

I
There's an armed forces careers forum here with about 57,000 threads on joining the RAF. Go have a look.

Yes, sponsorship exists, but to say it's rare is an understatement.
VMD100
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Definitely read up on this career and ensure you are approaching it from the most advantageous route - from the little I know of it they have recently been cutting back on the numbers of fighter pilots with some, days from qualifying training being axed.
Drewski
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by VMD100)
Definitely read up on this career and ensure you are approaching it from the most advantageous route - from the little I know of it they have recently been cutting back on the numbers of fighter pilots with some, days from qualifying training being axed.
That was 6 years ago.
I know very well; I was there.

The only ones who get booted out that close now are the ones who fail.
tbator
Badges: 7
Rep:
?