mathislife
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi,

I am in my final year at Warwick studying Maths Bsc, expected to get a 2:1, do I stand a chance in getting funding for a Msc in either Finance or Economics?

If so, how do I go about it?
tutonic
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
While you stand a chance to gain admission, funding is absolutely out of the question since you don't have a First. You might be able to get it at Warwick since they can judge you more holistically, since you're from there anyway but outside of Warwick, I'd say pretty unlikely.
mathislife
Rep:
?
(Original post by tutonic)
While you stand a chance to gain admission, funding is absolutely out of the question since you don't have a First. You might be able to get it at Warwick since they can judge you more holistically, since you're from there anyway but outside of Warwick, I'd say pretty unlikely.

Not even funding from a 'lower' russel group uni?
tutonic
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
I'm not entirely optimistic of your chances. Simply put, this is how I see it. Every decent school will get quite a number r of applicants with a First. Since funding opportunities are fairly limited for each school, all else being equal, they'd get it over you since most of them are based on academic merit. I'm not implying you won't get any. Just that you shouldn't be hoping for it and manage expectations.
Oilfreak1
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by mathislife)
Not even funding from a 'lower' russel group uni?
You're not at oxbridge there are no "lower" russel group unis to you, just unis that score worse on league tables or are less represented in BB IBDs.

(Yes i know COWI is a thing, doesn't stop warwick being another run of the mill non oxbridge uni)

OT: i'm sure warwick will give returning students a discount. A 2.1 is nothing to shout about so funding is highly unlikely.
mathislife
Rep:
?
(Original post by Oilfreak1)