The Student Room Group

University choices for mature students?

I'm currently studying an Access course and sorting my UCAS application.
Probably the most difficult thing I'm finding is University choices, I recently visited aUni in Birmingham and was not comfortable at all due to the sheer amount of much younger students, I only spotted one other mature student! and was mistaken for a teacher a few times too.

I understand that as a 33-year-old, there will be younger students wherever I go but I wondered if anyone has university recommendations where the percentage of mature students is a little higher? Another reason I 'm keen on a bigger population of mature students is because I recently heard from an old friend who is having an awful time at uni due to all the younger students making her life a misery.

It's already scary being a mature student, the last thing I want is to end up miserable in a place far from home. Other universities I'm looking at are Wolverhampton, Cardiff, Chester, and Aberystwyth, can anyone recommend these?
Reply 1
Go to ucas website: http://search.ucas.com/search/providers?Vac=1&AvailableIn=2017&Query=
Click on Uni you fancy (or search using provider filter)
Check out the ratios of mature students.

For example it states that Birmingham only has 9.1% of students >21
kings college london has almost 30% mature students
Reply 2
Take the stats with a pinch of salt though. A "mature" student is 21 and over, so the percentage of mature students won't reflect how many people of your own age you'll encounter. The bottom line is that any uni will be populated for the most part by 21 and unders.