The Student Room Group
Student in halls, Buckinghamshire New University
Buckinghamshire New University
High Wycombe

Any questions??

Hello everyone...

My name is Katherine and I am a current student studying Children's Nursing at Bucks. If you have any questions do feel free to ask away.

So here is some information that may answer any questions that you currently have:
- You will be on placement for half of the year, the programme is 50% theory and 50% practical.
- You can choose to have your home base as London which includes hospitals such as West Middlesex, Hillingdon, Charing Cross and more, or you can pick Thames Valley which includes Stoke Mandeville and High Wycombe hospitals.
- With Children's Nursing you will have 10 weeks on a Children's ward, 4 weeks in a Learning Disability unit and a 4 week Adult insight placement.
- There is accommodation in Uxbridge and High Wycombe, as well as Hospital accommodation.
- Nursoc is the new Nursing Society that got set up last year and is an active society for Nursing students to feel a part of the Students Union, and we run lots of different events, such as movie nights, quizzes, theatre trips and so much more!
- If you are a UK or EU student starting in February 2017 then you will be entitled to have your tuition fees paid in full by the NHS.
- Your lecturers and personal tutors are there to support you with any issues or concerns that you have around the course, so do use them as much as you need to.

Any further questions feel free to ask :smile:
Hello. :smile: I'll be starting the Adult Nursing degree in February and was wondering if you know what the insight placements for my field will be?
Student in halls, Buckinghamshire New University
Buckinghamshire New University
High Wycombe
Reply 2
Original post by vanessa_nicole
Hello. :smile: I'll be starting the Adult Nursing degree in February and was wondering if you know what the insight placements for my field will be?

Hi Nicole,