theasymptote
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
I'm studying Chemistry, History, Maths and Further Maths at AS level and would love to study Maths at Cambridge. Aside from good A level grades I'm just wondering what else would help me get in... I play the piano and in my GCSEs I got 9A*s and 2As. Any comments would be appreciated! Thanks!
HopelessMedic
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by theasymptote)
I'm studying Chemistry, History, Maths and Further Maths at AS level and would love to study Maths at Cambridge. Aside from good A level grades I'm just wondering what else would help me get in... I play the piano and in my GCSEs I got 9A*s and 2As. Any comments would be appreciated! Thanks!
For Maths at Cambridge you need A*A*A and usually 1,1 In STEP 2 and 3 iirc. The first part is usually easy for most applicants, but STEP is much more difficult. EC's won't help your application, perhaps you could enter some Maths tournaments ( UKMT, Bmo etc) which would strengthen your PS. Also have a look at STEP 1 problems to give you an idea of level of difficulty.

Around half of Maths offer holders miss their offer, largely due to STEP, so it is a lot harder to meet the offer than to obtain one.
Danny the Geezer
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
There is no secret formula strong app/reference, GCSEs/ predicted will get you into most top Unis and Oxbridge aren't like otherworldly like some people make out
Doones
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Simply maths, and more maths.

You will need to do STEP if you get an Offer. It's a bit early to be worrying about it but have a look at the STEP Prep thread for some insights on what is involved:

https://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/sho...rimary_content
alcibiade
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago