Is Politics and philosophy similar to human geography in terms of esteem? Watch

MilkyChiken
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I am currently studying human geography but am dropping out to bump up my a levels to get into a better uni (need AAA). For some time I have aspired to potentially work in BP (British Petroleum) in terms of oil exploration/ the negotiations around it, as I have a possible way in to the company. However, I am tempted to change course when I apply for 2017 from human geography to politics and philosophy as i am conisderably more interested in the lively debates and topics covered in politics/philosophy. Would this be detrimental to this career path as geographers are statistically so employable? Or are the degrees similar in relevant weight towards the field of work I would like to enter? Thanks for all replies.
JRS13
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by MilkyChiken)
I am currently studying human geography but am dropping out to bump up my a levels to get into a better uni (need AAA). For some time I have aspired to potentially work in BP (British Petroleum) in terms of oil exploration/ the negotiations around it, as I have a possible way in to the company. However, I am tempted to change course when I apply for 2017 from human geography to politics and philosophy as i am conisderably more interested in the lively debates and topics covered in politics/philosophy. Would this be detrimental to this career path as geographers are statistically so employable? Or are the degrees similar in relevant weight towards the field of work I would like to enter? Thanks for all replies.
Hi, I'm applying to study a joint honours in Philosophy and Politics (PP) for 2017 entry.