Major issues with student finance funding for my masters

Watch
ryansturt
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi,

I am having major issues with receiving my student finance.

I originally applied for a PGCE course however I decided to study for my Masters instead. I did not attend or enrol onto the PGCE and I made Student Finance aware of this as I was told to fill out a change of circumstances form , which i did (before both courses started) and continuously kept in contact with Student Finance regarding my application. However, I was still paid as though i was going to be studying the PGCE. Once i found this out I immediately contacted student finance and was advised to hold onto the money as they sort out my application, again I contacted student finance continuously as i was unsure on what to do regarding this money and was continuously told to hold onto the money.

I contacted the university where I am studying for my masters, and fortunately, after a couple of visits, they were able to get in contact with student finance regarding this issue. The money was paid back after the university had contacted student finance, I was also awarded £30 out of this payment (I am not sure why), which I later had to pay back with added interest of £11 making it £41.

I am still in contact with student finance regarding when i will be receiving my masters funding. I received a letter stating i would have been paid on the 24th November, which I wasn't. I have been in touch with student finance continuously and have been told each time that it was being processed and should be with me soon. However, I have been in contact with student finance again today and was told that they don't know when i will be getting paid as my account is apparently "buggy" due to student finance paying the wrong institute (even though they had plenty of notice about this).