sophieball97
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I am currently a first year undergraduate studying Computer Science, but am looking to withdraw from this course as it is not right for Me. I have applied and received the first instalment from Student Finance England for the maintenance loan. As I withdraw what will happen to the money I have received, how or when will I pay this back? I am going to be rejoining University in 2017.
PQ
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by sophieball97)
I am currently a first year undergraduate studying Computer Science, but am looking to withdraw from this course as it is not right for Me. I have applied and received the first instalment from Student Finance England for the maintenance loan. As I withdraw what will happen to the money I have received, how or when will I pay this back? I am going to be rejoining University in 2017.
This will depend on the withdrawal date your university sends to SLC.

Your first instalment of loan covers your living costs up until your second instalment arrives - so if you withdraw partway between instalments then SLC will ask for a portion of that first payment to be repaid quickly (they'll arrange something manageable but it will usually be repaid within a few months).

Your student support/finance team at your university should be able to help you work out how much of the first instalment will be required to repay.