Turn on thread page Beta

Age of Empires vs. Total War watch

• View Poll Results: Which game should i get?
    Age of Empires
    37.21%
    Total War
    65.12%

ReputationRep:
    Im new to this genre of gaming, and having just but a laptop that can actually handle the graphics (see here if you really must lol), im looking to invest in some good fun

So which should i get? I hear their pretty similar, but thought id just get some experienced opinions from you.

ReputationRep:
    I'd go with Total war, although few games beat AOE2 Multiplayer.

ReputationRep:
    AOE2 on msn zone is finished now isnt it?

ReputationRep:
    I'd definately say Total War. I actually found AoE3 to be kind of dull.

ReputationRep:
    I really liked AoE3, i never understood why people didn't

ReputationRep:
    I like Age of Empires, but Total War gets my vote easily. I'm useless at it, but I love it all the same

ReputationRep:
    Age of Empires gets my vote!

ReputationRep:
    Total War, for sure. Get Rome: Total War first (it's really cheap these days).

ReputationRep:
    Age of Empires II is the greatest game ever made, in my opinion. I played the campaigns, single player, multiplayer, designed scenarios for it and modded it before moving onto Empire Earth and Warcraft III. Randomly generated maps kick the crap out of the maps we get in Warcraft, Dawn of War etc.

The scope of options with this game is incredible. Scenario design and modding will keep your interest when all else fails. I still play AOE2 with my friend over LAN on occasion, many years after I stopped playing it frequently. It's also one of the few RTS games that allows you to win in pretty much any way imaginable, from defensive (not just building a load of towers, but actual WALLS!!!1) to rushing, resource gathering or deathmatch which does away with all that hunter/gathering stuff. In short, it actually gives you choice. Oh, and you can run it on pretty much any PC/laptop.

ReputationRep: