Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    hi,
    Im a 17 year old student currently at college going into my second year in september, and am interested in a career as a commercail pilot. I know you can train in the RAF and go commercial after that, but i was wondering what qualifications you need, and what the training route to become a pilot is like and what it entails. Please email me back any information or post it up.
    thanks
    kim

ReputationRep:
    An enthusiasm for flying is the main requirement I think!

ReputationRep:
    Good luck, the last person who posted something like that got loads of abuse

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Vladek)
    Good luck, the last person who posted something like that got loads of abuse
    Me?

ReputationRep:
    no no, but if you want abuse hurling at you i don't mind

flyer2k or something, he was a bit anoying though.

anyhow back to the thread...

Kim, check out http://www.uk-learning.net/t5678.html that thread if you want to join the RAF its got loads of stuff in it about the RAF pilot route. have you looked on british airways site for careers they might have info.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ks3288)
    hi,
    Im a 17 year old student currently at college going into my second year in september, and am interested in a career as a commercail pilot. I know you can train in the RAF and go commercial after that, but i was wondering what qualifications you need, and what the training route to become a pilot is like and what it entails. Please email me back any information or post it up.
    thanks
    kim

From what i know, to become a civilian pilot you need to gain a Private Pilots Licence, Commerical Pilots Licence with an Instrument Rating, and an ATPL (Air Transport Pilots Licence?). This will set you back a lot of money.

ReputationRep:
    hi,
    thanks
    kim