The Student Room Group

Circuit Theory

Hi, again :frown:

This time it's circuits that have got me stumped, surprise surprise!

Starting off with capacitors...

1. A 4 microFarad capacitor and a 6 microFarad capacitor are connected in parallel across a 660V supply line. The charged capacitors are disconnected from the line and from each other, and then reconnected to each other with terminals of unlike sign together. Find the final charge on each and the voltage across each.

I'm hoping there's an easy way of doing this and I'm just being silly :p:

2. In the figure below, C1 = C5 = 8.4 microFarads and C2 = C3 = C4 = 4.2 microFarads. The applied potential is Vab = 220V.
a) What is the equivalent capacitance of the network between points a and b?
b) Calculate the charge on each capacitor and the potential difference across each capacitor.

Okay, so I think the problem is that I'm not very good at splitting up circuits so I can't work out which bits are series or parallel or whatever :redface:

Okay, normal circuity bits!

3. You are asked to determine the resistance per meter of a long piece of wire. You find a battery, voltmeter, and an ammeter. You put the leads from the voltmeter across the terminals of the battery and the meter reads 12.6V. You cut off a 20m length of wire and connect it to the battery, with an ammeter in series with it to measure the current in the wire. The ammeter reads 7A. You then cut off a 40m length of wire and connect it to the battery, again with the ammeter in series to measure the current. The ammeter reads 4.2A. What is the resistance of one meter of wire?

Um, I tried to create some sort of simultaneous equations but I think I'm missing a key concept because I'm getting an impossible answer along the vein of 1 = 2 :biggrin:

4. A material of resistivity p is formed into a solid, truncated cone of height h and radii r1 and r2 at either end. (Below)
Calculate the resistance of the cone between the two flat end faces.