Is a career in the civil service my best choice?

Watch
TitanCream
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hello all. I am currently an UG student at a top ten university studying Classical Civilisation. I love politics but decided to do CC to mix things up and learn more things. My original plan was to work in the classics, but I realise now that my true true passion is politics and so I have decided to aim for this. I applied for the EDIP, just waiting for a response and I have also volunteered/canvassed in the past. Ideally I'd be an MP but any role in politics is for me, I understand however that the CS is incredibly tough to get into but, assuming it works well, should I go for it?

Thanks!
jay191
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by TitanCream)
Hello all. I am currently an UG student at a top ten university studying Classical Civilisation. I love politics but decided to do CC to mix things up and learn more things. My original plan was to work in the classics, but I realise now that my true true passion is politics and so I have decided to aim for this. I applied for the EDIP, just waiting for a response and I have also volunteered/canvassed in the past. Ideally I'd be an MP but any role in politics is for me, I understand however that the CS is incredibly tough to get into but, assuming it works well, should I go for it?

Thanks!
Have a read of the Civil Service Management Code - Section 4.4 Conduct: Political Activities. That should give you a good starting point of how the relationship between the civil service and politics.
Michiyo
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by jay191)
Have a read of the Civil Service Management Code - Section 4.4 Conduct: Political Activities. That should give you a good starting point of how the relationship between the civil service and politics.