The Student Room Group
Carr Saunders Halls, LSE
London School of Economics
London

My thoughts on LSE after one term - social life etc

Hi guys,

I'm a first year law student at the LSE and am now off for the winter break. I just wanted to make this thread as I remember being in the same position as yourselves and I wish someone had done the same.

I almost didn't choose to accept my offer to study at LSE as a result of reading things online with people saying how much they disliked their time at LSE. Despite this I went with my gut and accepted my offer. I'm glad I did. In the past few months I have met and become friends with some of the most caring, good-humoured, talented and driven people I've ever met. I'm able to go out 3 times a week, play for one of the sport's teams and keep on top of my studies. All this stuff about how everyone is really dry and boring is simply not the case. LSE students are like students and at other students, just slightly more driven.

Another misconception is that "all the internationals are cliquey." Granted this is true of the Chinese, but for everyone else this is not the case. I have been able to make friends with people from all over the world; which in my opinion is a true privilege that would not have been granted at any other university. Yeh the course is difficult, but what do you expect, you're studying at an elite university. If you want to doss around for 3 years then LSE isn't for you. London universities, by virtue of not being on small campuses are slightly harder to meet people so putting yourself out there and getting involved like I did is greatly advised. I find that having to force myself to do so has meant that I've become more confident, and have expanded demonstrably.