potassiumnitrate
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
I've already applied to universities for chemistry however I'm starting to hear bad things about a chemistry degree.

-is it more difficult to get a job with, compared to other STEM degrees?

-lower salaries

-is it more restrictive? ' not much you can do with it'?

Even though I've applied, I still feel a bit undecided and am worrying whether its a bad decision or not, compared to a degree in physics or engineering
cdoyle
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by potassiumnitrate)
I've already applied to universities for chemistry however I'm starting to hear bad things about a chemistry degree.

-lower salaries

Even though I've applied, I still feel a bit undecided and am worrying whether its a bad decision or not, compared to a degree in physics or engineering
Hi,

I did a Medicinal chemistry degree hoping to go into pharmaceutical labs. I lost interest in chemistry after about a week of the course having transferred from a health degree. I did however stick out all of the degree- don't know how. Searched for jobs anyway but most were three to five years experience, masters or PhD preferred and jobs not requiring those were technician level that didnt require a degree.
floatationdevice
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago

-lower salaries

mind if I ask why you chose chem over Chem eng. etc?
potassiumnitrate
Rep:
?
(Original post by cdoyle)
Hi,

I did however stick out all of the degree- don't know how. Searched for jobs anyway but most were three to five years experience, masters or PhD preferred and jobs not requiring those were technician level that didnt require a degree.
Have you found a job right now? and would you have chosen another degree if you could go back in time?
potassiumnitrate
Rep:
?
(Original post by floatationdevice)
mind if I ask why you chose chem over Chem eng. etc?