Trackstar
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
I'm studying maths and physics at the University of York. I was originally planning on pursuing a career in patent law however I fear I'm just not smart enough, particularly as they take into account GCSE's and A-levels which weren't good for me. So my question is what are some of the highest paying jobs you can get with a STEM degree with or with postgraduate study?
username738914
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Trackstar)
I'm studying maths and physics at the University of York. I was originally planning on pursuing a career in patent law however I fear I'm just not smart enough, particularly as they take into account GCSE's and A-levels which weren't good for me. So my question is what are some of the highest paying jobs you can get with a STEM degree with or with postgraduate study?
Shouldn't you be looking at careers (where you'll spend 60%+ of your time) from an interest perspective? Rather than a purely monetary one?

Posted from TSR Mobile
Mystery.
Report 3 years ago
Footballer.
Trapz99
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Investment banking -> Private equity -> (10 years later) -> £1 million a year
Aspiring123
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Trapz99)
OR
IB (for 2-3 years) -> $1 billion Hedge Fund -> 1 mil a year (after 4-5 years). With a Hedge Fund you will earn more than your investment banking counterparts but you need to go to at least a $1 bil Fund, otherwise no point.
username2560671
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Mystery.)
Footballer.
You don't need a degree for that m8
Trapz99
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Samendra)
OR
IB (for 2-3 years) -> $1 billion Hedge Fund -> 1 mil a year (after 4-5 years). With a Hedge Fund you will earn more than your investment banking counterparts but you need to go to at least a $1 bil Fund, otherwise no point.