MSc Town and Regional Planning/MSc Urban Planning Watch

Featherstone1
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I'll try to be concise.

I'm British. I'm currently a senior undergraduate - majoring in economics - at an American university. My GPA is 3.94 and I'm hopeful re: the GRE, albeit not particularly interested in continuing education in the US. Career-wise my sights are firmly fixed on the public sector or working with nonprofit organizations.

Recently I've been looking in to the above mentioned masters programs, alongside Economics MScs, in the belief that they might afford me the opportunity to specialize into an area that I've always been interested in (while realizing, of course, that the pay of any related career won't be comparable to those in finance etc.).

A few questions, then:

. I'm largely interested in mainland European universities (KTH, Humboldt Berlin, Oslo...). Accordingly, they aren't likely to be certified by the RTPI. Is it a fairly smooth process achieving RTPI certified status from other countries (particularly those within the EU)? I'm liable to supplement whichever program with independent study of the relevant British law.

. If I were to apply to the UK in particular, which programs - to the best of peoples' experiences and knowledge - offer the most focus on technical skills (GIS, financial models and so on)?

Any advice that people can provide would be greatly appreciated.
alleycat393
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
This isn't my area of expertise at all but may I suggest you have a look at this RTPI process and what it entails (just do a search) and maybe ask the unis directly how they tie in with it all. In terms of picking a course the best thing to do is look at modules and course structures and work out what works best for you. It is quite personal.
Tcannon
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago