Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I have currently finished my A Levels and I'm taking a gap year. I was wondering if anyone had any idea what I should be doing during my year out, I have interviews for job, but other than that I have no idea what to do. People say volunteering is good, but where is the best place, also should I be doing anything abroad?? Please if you have any idea, could you inform me straight away. I am thinking of applying for biomed, maths, dentistry, or even accounting. Thank you

Well, I took a Gap Year, I had a good job to go to which helped my CV, (as a violin teacher, I was really lucky).

If you are not thinking of any travelling then I really think its important to get a job which relates to what you wanna do.

Be forward and be prepared to do alot of work for free if you really wanna get your CV good.

Universities love variety and that you have done something different. They like the fact that you have put yourself out for people.

Message me if you want any other tips, I dunno if this helped but my Gap Year was so worthwhile. I wouldnt have changed a thing

ReputationRep:
    I'm on my gap year now, and not regretting my decision at all, despite feeling slightly jealous of my friends who've already started uni... (Cos I know I will go eventually..)

At the moment I'm just working, earn some money so that uni will be slightly easier.. But I plan on doing a bit of travelling, maybe going to Africa (wanna do development studies or sth like that at uni... )
    Oh, and I do a bit of volunteering as well, which is nice.. I'm in the Red Cross, in something called 'the visiting service' (don't know if it exists in the UK), so every week I visit this old, lonely lady for about an hour, helping her to walk a little,and then just talking to her, keeping her company.. It's such a little thing, but it makes her life better, and it makes me feel better too, when she tells me how much she's looking forward to seeing me again..