The Student Room Group

Should I take up this Training Contract offer?

So, I graduated with a good law degree from a RG University and have essentially been given the opportunity to complete a training contract at a small law firm (through contacts). The salary will probably been around 17k, which clearly isn't a lot.

Of course my main aim has always been corporate law and I think I do stand a decent shot with my background.

However, putting that aside (since it is incredibly hard to bag a city tc), would it be wise to take up this offer.

The way I see it is, I can at the very least manage on a slightly lower salary for 2 years just to get qualified and then move into a slightly larger firm. I get my foot in the door.

And once I qualify and maybe spend 2 more years in smaller firms I could then go off to work in government or other private sector jobs unrelated to law. But I would have my qualification and can always look to set up my own small firm later on.

Essentially, I know that I can get a job paying 25k and work my way up in a private sector organisation. However, if I ever want to become self-employed i wouldn't really have a way out.

Or I could spend 2 year qualifying as a lawyer at a small firm, then go into the same decent paying private sector jobs (unrelated to law) and have the ability to set up my own firm eventually as well.
Original post by J-SP
When are you due to start your TC?

Posted from TSR Mobile

roundabouts Sept 2017
Original post by PostGrad221
So, I graduated with a good law degree from a RG University and have essentially been given the opportunity to complete a training contract at a small law firm (through contacts). The salary will probably been around 17k, which clearly isn't a lot.

Of course my main aim has always been corporate law and I think I do stand a decent shot with my background.

However, putting that aside (since it is incredibly hard to bag a city tc), would it be wise to take up this offer.