Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Basically I'm in my first year of university and I really haven't been enjoying it as much as I thought I would. I had a job all throughout Sixth Form and during the summer after I finished A levels. And I just miss it so much. I miss being able to go to work, do something productive during the day, and then be able to go home without worrying about studying. I was so happy during summer and a job was everything I wanted. I could earn money, it was easy, and it still gave me time to go see friends and do other things without feeling guilty for not studying. Does anyone have any advice?

ReputationRep:
    What job did you have?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by senpaipoppy)
    it was easy
    This is the crux of the problem I think. You knew where you were with your job. You could just turn up, do it, then come home and not worry about what was going to happen tomorrow. And they even gave you money for it! Uni is the opposite. By its nature, you don't know what you're doing most of the time because it's a three year learning experience. Just as you start to get to grips with a topic, the module ends and you're on to something else new and challenging. You can never leave it behind, because there's always reading, coursework or revision. It's difficult.

I suppose in short, there's no point comparing uni life to the life which you had before - they are very different things. Uni is bound to feel less comfortable.

it still gave me time to go see friends and do other things without feeling guilty for not studying. Does anyone have any advice?