Turn on thread page Beta

Advice on changing courses - unsure of what to do watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone, I'm a first year History student at a fairly respectable uni. While I've enjoyed uni so far, the course isn't exactly how I imagined it to be, and consequently I spend a lot of time pondering other options, one of which being switching to Biomed/Biochem. My reasons are thus: employability and options afterwards; general interest in the subject; and better prospects of being accepted onto GEM (which I've been toying with for a while).

I have an interest in science, and always have done. Unfortunately, I am not nearly as strong in science as I am in the humanities - I got A*s in the humanities at GCSEs, while I achieved ABB in Physics, Biology, and Chemistry; at A-Level I got A*AC in English Lit, History, and Biology (I'm still annoyed at Biology - I was one UMS off a B after completely failing one unit. I had As and Bs in the others...). I took Chemistry at AS and achieved an abysmal E grade after struggling with some concepts and never rectifying my mistakes, as well as fatiguing myself with little food and sleep during the exam period. It makes me wish I had worked much harder during my A-Levels, but alas, it cannot be changed now. It is a worry of mine that I don't have the intellectual capability to do a STEM degree - I'm not sure I'm skilled enough in that way of thinking - so this also contributes to my feeling of perturbation.

I do wonder if it's possible for the uni to let me switch to Biochem/Biomed? I understand my grades aren't the best, nor are they what's required for these two subjects at my uni (AAB-ABB in bio + one other science) but I do have the UCAS points needed...it is a bit of a drastic jump. I suppose I could resit Biol5 and reapply to the same uni? I am certainly worried about job prospects with a BA. I understand that BScs may not necessarily fare better, but at least it is easier to get into healthcare that way.