Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I graduated from university with a degree in mechanical and thermal engineering last year. Since then, I've struggled to find a job in that field in the UK.
    It's been almost a year of doing absolutely nothing and I feel like I went to uni for nothing. I have found a German company now and I'm thinking of applying for a job there, since they are looking for trainees. Since it's a trainee position I don't think it will pay a lot and I'm scared of moving so far away from home. On the other hand, it could be a really great job opportunity and it would look great on my resume.

What would you do? I can't find a job here at all :/
    • Official TSR Representative

ReputationRep:
    Moving to Germany could be very exciting for you!
    There's a lot of things you need to think about though: Are you able to find out the salary of this position? And if you do find out and notice it is lower than what you are expecting, is there a chance to progress in the company and get promoted? Will their be a language barrier?

Also, have you had a look on the Milkround website? They have a whole section dedication for Engineering roles:
    http://www.milkround.com/jobs/engine...ring/#browsing

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by lenife)
    On the other hand, it could be a really great job opportunity and it would look great on my resume.
    I think that you answered your own question, assuming that the issues can be overcome.
    What would you do? I can't find a job here at all :/
    I did. My first job post-university was in France.
    Since it's a trainee position I don't think it will pay a lot and I'm scared of moving so far away from home.
    Apply anyway, and, if they offer it you, you'll get all the information.