Turn on thread page Beta

Mandarin Chinese learners/speakers! watch

ReputationRep:
    I've decided to seriously take up learning Mandarin alongside my studies!

Anyone currently learning or currently able to speak it that fancies a chat?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by SonoLuma)
    I've decided to seriously take up learning Mandarin alongside my studies!

Anyone currently learning or currently able to speak it that fancies a chat?
    I am from Hong Kong and speak Mandarin at a good level, not sure if that helps?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ho2901)
    I am from Hong Kong and speak Mandarin at a good level, not sure if that helps?
    Hey, thanks for your reply!

Im still a beginner at the moment, though after my exams these next few weeks, I'll be stepping up my studies! :-)

I could maybe send you a message sometime when I have a bit of a grasp of the lingo? I fear I may annoy the hell out of you if youre proficient in both english and chinese! haha

ReputationRep:
    If you're serious about Mandarin you're going to have to enrol in a class and learn from a teacher. It's incredibly hard to self-teach. Even if you are learning by yourself, you'll need to immerse yourself in it. Start with buying a good dictionary which has pinyin and some textbooks.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by spacepirate-James)
    If you're serious about Mandarin you're going to have to enrol in a class and learn from a teacher. It's incredibly hard to self-teach. Even if you are learning by yourself, you'll need to immerse yourself in it. Start with buying a good dictionary which has pinyin and some textbooks.

Yes I know. I have taught myself a language before. I appreciate the advice, the condescension, not so much.
    Im 27, not a bloody child mate.

Submit reply
Turn on thread page Beta
TSR Support Team