Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi everybody!

My name is Vanessa and I'm currently doing my a-levels. For one of these, I'm doing English Literature - AQA A spec (Love Through The Ages).

For this spec, I'm studying 'Othello' by William Shakespeare. I am really enjoying this play but would really like to increase my knowledge by discussing it further. Therefore, I was wondering whether anyone would be interested in creating a discussion group for it. Or if not a group, we could discuss it together.

Please let me know if anyone's interested.

V x

ReputationRep:
    I'm also doing Othello in my IB English lang/lit. I have some solid understanding of it and wrote my written task on one of its themes, got a 23/25 on it, but I'd also like to expand some ideas because we have Individual Oral Commentary in 2 weeks on some Othello scenes.

ReputationRep:
    Thank you for your reply!

I'm glad you're interested, will see if anyone else replies but if not I will message you and we can talk about it together - if that's good for you?

Love, V x

ReputationRep:
    chuck a psychoanalytic and new historicist reading in and you're sorted

ReputationRep:
    I'm doing the same course as you
    I hate othello, it annoys me so much. Am I the only one who struggles with the language? I've done Romeo and Juliet, Macbeth and much ado about nothing before and I didn't have trouble understanding it at all, but othello confuses me so much.
    Purely out of curiosity, what other books are you doing? I'm doing Jane Eyre and the great Gatsby.

ReputationRep:
    Just a suggestion....there are a lot of movies on the play Othello .....adaptations of the story......watching those can help one understand the play and characters from multiple angles and different critical perspectives.

ReputationRep:
    there is a lot of scope for psychoanalytical, reader response, historical critical theories